Oh brother

3 Mar

Brother 1The other day I had to call my brother and plead for a ride to work when my car broke down. “Lemme take a look at it,” he said, which made me laugh, because he doesn’t know much about cars.  Neither do I.  He and I also both shared some weird driving phobia early on and didn’t get our licenses when normal people do. It may have had something to do with the way our father took us out on the road and then calmly kept saying things like, “Remember, the American highway is the most dangerous place in the world” but I’m not sure. Anyway, we don’t have much else in common.

Brother 3We are 18 months apart, so I don’t recall a time when he wasn’t around. My mother says I was excited about his arrival. Maybe I was just bored. He was a pot stirrer from the get go, so things got exciting right away. While I was well-behaved, my mother still talks about how she wanted to put booze in his baby bottle. I went to bed in a reasonable manner. He rocked his crib until it bashed into the wall.  We are not alike.

While a few good friends are plenty for me, he’s always been the life of the party with a zillion followers. During college, I once road tripped to his mid-sized college without notice. I roamed from one bar to the next asking if anyone had seen him.  Never once did anyone look at me crazy-like and say “Who?” Nope, they all just said, “Yeah, he was here a while ago” and pointed me down the street where I eventually tracked him down.

The story I can tell in two minutes (always botching the punch line) with him, will turn into a 30 minute saga.  It’s great when you don’t really feel like talking. Just nod and laugh once in a while and you’ll be entertained for hours. He’s really funny.

As kids, I got busted for every minor infraction while he coasted through his bumbles. I do remember my glee though, the night a police car pulled up late in our drive way.  I removed the floor grate in my bedroom, hunkered down, and listened to see which of the brothers it would be.  Ah Hah! Finally, a turn in the dog house.  But, if memory serves, he regaled everyone with his tale and talked himself out of any major punishment.

Brother 7It might have been jealousy, but I think it was more a need to carve out my own niche.  I remember being furious when he decided to act in a play which was encroaching on my territory. I mean, he didn’t need to worry about me moving in on his cross-country and hockey successes.

It wasn’t just in my head either.  The other day, I ran across this old gem from our local neighborhood newspaper columnist. It was written the year I won our hometown pageant and he was writing for the sports section.

In the, “If  you’re going to feel sorry for some one this week” category comes this story.

As I walked around the streets on Saturday morning during the rendezvous events, I crossed paths with the local Miss Webster.  After recognizing her, I made the comment, “Oh,  you’re Lou’s sister.”  Sorry about that.

It seems that she has heard that comment too many times.  Not that she doesn’t care for her brother, but she seems to be getting more recognition as being his sister, than she is as being Miss Webster. Those of you who read the sport pages of this paper each week will recognize his name.  He has done some sports writing for us for a few years now, and he’s done a darned good job. With his name appearing in print week after week, his name is becoming a household word in the county.

So, while his articles in the paper have given him Journalistic fame it has also labeled members of his family as  “Lou’s mom,” Lou’s dad,” etc. Yet, Kristen, being Miss Webster holds an honor and a title that she can enjoy and be proud of.  As time passes, I’m sure he’ll hear, “Oh, you’re Miss Webster’s brother.”  I know it’ll happen.

Well buster, it didn’t happen, but I did take pride in the ridiculously gigantic trophy it brought me, which was taller than his sports trophies stacked one on top of the other. Hey, that’s something anyway.

I have one boy now and  he has four girls. I think he likes drama, so his kids tend to be the “sickest,” “naughtiest” and “funniest.”  Mine is pretty good. We are still very different.

Brother 2But, come to think of it, we do share something; a similar gusto for silliness. As children, he wasn’t too macho to play dress up. He let G.I Joe hang out with Barbie. While neither of us was okay with it, he was willing to be Joseph to my Mary and believe me when I tell you, our youngest brother would never have stood for that.  Even now, while I pour my energy into themed parties, craft and movie nights, and Christmas pageants, he’s held outdoor badminton tournaments in the winter, ladies skating parties complete with disco balls, and an annual Fowl Fest. We do like to go overboard on occasion.

I certainly don’t feel competitive anymore. We are who we are and I (usually) appreciate the complimentary personalities we bring to the table. But Mr. Pot-Stirrer, I’m thinking those four teenage girls might be your payback; that and teaching them all how to drive.

6 Responses to “Oh brother”

  1. Bridget Neurer March 6, 2013 at 1:10 pm #

    LOVE IT!!!! And, I will concur that it’s all true! — from the other half (of the four girls)

    • Kristen March 15, 2013 at 11:18 am #

      Thanks B!! I know, you know, all too well from whence I speak!

  2. Hayley Ingli March 15, 2013 at 10:15 am #

    Great pictures & story! You rocked the vintage style!

    • Kristen March 15, 2013 at 11:17 am #

      Thanks Hayley! My mom had three kids under 4, so I blame my brothers for my shorty, boy haircut!

  3. Pam December 29, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

    Oh so funny! I think I missed this post the first time around. Love reading about your prospective of growing up, especially with Sweet Lou as your brother!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Clickery for March 15, 2013 - Borealis - March 15, 2013

    […] Crazy pivot: Pretty paper + candles = easy, inexpensive happiness. My crafty friend Kristen and I discovered this during our holiday making-things-a-thon last year and she wrote up the how-to on her blog, Snapshot. While you are there, read Oh, Brother too. […]

Leave a Comment